Caine Prize event comes to Ghana

imagesThe Goethe-Institut in Accra will on April 18 host a panel discussion, reading and awards for the 2015 edition of Caine Prize for African Writing.

Prudential PLC, one of the world’s leading financial services groups and Groupe Nduom, a family business group of Ghanaian and American origin operating in the financial, hospitality, media and other industries, are the primary supporters of this year’s workshop taking place in Ghana.

The Caine Prize, known as Africa’s leading literary award, has held 12 workshops in Africa since 2003.

Twelve writers from eight African countries have convened at the Coconut Grove Hotel in Elmina since Monday, April 6  for a 13-day  camp.

The selected writers have been tasked to write, read and discuss work in progress and to learn from two experienced writers: Leila Aboulela, a Sudanese author and winner of the inaugural Caine Prize in 1999 and Zukiswa Wanner, a South African novelist and journalist. Both have been acting as tutors and animateurs.

This year’s participants include Diane Awerbuck (South Africa), and Efemia Chela (Zambia/Ghana) who were shortlisted for the 2014 prize, Onipede Hollist (Sierra Leona) who was shortlisted in 2013 and nine other promising writers, Dalle Abraham (Kenya), Nkiacha Atemnkeng (Cameroon), Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria), Timothy Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya), Jonathan Mbuna (Malawi), Jonathan Dotse, Jemila Abdulai, Aisha Nelson and Nana Nyarko Boateng (Ghana).

During the workshop, the writers were expected to write a short story for the 2015 Caine Prize anthology, which will be published by New Internationalist on  July 1 and subsequently by nine co-publishers in Africa. Stories conceived at annual workshops are automatically entered for the following year’s Caine Prize.

“As investment in Africa’s growing economies expands it is excellent to see the support businesses can provide to the arts, especially literature, and writing and reading, as part of their corporate social responsibility goals,” said Ellah Wakatama Allfrey OBE, Deputy Chairperson of the Caine Prize.


The mirror

Leave a Reply