Connect with us

VIP Wins Artiste Of The Year


VIP Wins Artiste Of The Year

It was all thrills and surprises at the 12th edition of the MTN Ghana Music Awards at the Accra International Conference Centre as the sensational Vision In Progress (VIP) swept the Artiste of the Year and Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the year awards.

The event, held on Saturday, April 9, was organized by Charter House to reward Ghanaian music icons for their commitment, hard work and dedication in the music career.

It was a night of musical fireworks as some of the awardees and other artistes took turns to dish out splendid acts that got the audience dancing, or simply hiking up their seats for a better view of proceedings.

There were some controversies as some awards went to recipients the audience did not expect.

The announcement of the male and female Vocal Performance of The Year and Discovery of The Year for instance, drew some roars from a section of the audience.

The event, which attracted a large number of personalities and music fans from all walks of life, kicked off with a brilliant performance from Sherifa and Efya, who performed alongside Teddy Osei of Osibisa. Teddy Osei received the Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of Osibisa. It was presented to him by the former vice president of the International Federation of Musicians (FIM), Alhaji Sidiku Buari.

The sensational Becca, who was the second artiste to perform, was at her best. She set the auditorium into frenzy when she took the stage and treated the audience to an unforgettable performance.

Becca, who kept the audience on their feet throughout her act on stage, dazzled them with her custom and adowa dance.

Her stagecraft, dynamic movements and general stage charisma got the audience applauding nonstop during her ten minutes performance.

C.K Mann, who was exceptional, brought back loving memories for the few who were his age, but the many who were in their 20s and 30s could also not help but dance to the rhythmic highlife tunes . His rendition of ‘ Adwoa Yankee’ was just something else.

No Tribe, led by Nacy, also got the audience wild with excitement when they treated them to unforgettable performances. The group wowed the audience with their mid-tempo songs.

Florence Obinim and Princess Ifeoma from Nigeria also rocked the event with their hit songs, stage craft and dancing skills. The audience couldn’t help but dance as they performed.

Cecilia Marfo, who also performed, kept a section of the audience on their feet when she performed her hit song ‘Efunuba’ . She got some ladies waiving their white handkerchiefs as her melodious tunes brought joy to the most saddened heart.

The event also witnessed performances from Ziggy, Trigmatic, Samini, Iwan, VIP, 5 Five, D Black and the Highlife entrant Bless, among others.

Ice Prince and Tu Face Idibia of ‘ African Queen’ fame, all from Nigeria, who were also on the bill, failed to impress the audience.

Ice Prince of ‘ Oleku’ fame succeeded in making a complete mockery of himself during his stay on stage.

And as for VIP, their entire performance on stage was simply fantastic, and the audience appreciated it.

The group, which has carved a niche for itself, has been branded as one of the leading musical groups with good stage performances and choreography.

All those who had the opportunity to watch the group live on stage recently at the Conference Centre will attest to the fact that VIP is ready to take the local music industry to another level.

Here is the full list of winners:
Artiste of the Year
Most popular song of the year
‘Aha Ye De’ by Nana Boroo
Discovery of the year
Herty Borngreat

Hip hop /Hiplife song of the year
‘Africa Girl’ by Castro and Asamoah Gyan

Hip hop/Hiplife artiste of the year

Hip-hop song of the year:
‘ Get on the dance floor’ by D’ Black
Gospel Song of the year
‘Efunuba’ by Cecilia Marfo

Gospel Artiste of the year
No Tribe

Highlife song of the year
‘ Dadeanoma’ Kwabena Kwabena

Highlife artiste of the year
Kwabena Kwabena

Afro-pop Song of the year
Kiss Your Hand by R2Bees

Reggae Song of the year
I wan

Best Collaboration of the year
‘Africa Girl’ by Castro and Asamoah Gyan
Best Rapper of the year

African artiste of the year

Record of the year
Sammi B

Album of the Year
Samini with CEO

Song writer of the year
Efunuba by Pastor Boamah

Best Male Vocal performance
Nii Lante

Best Female Vocal Performance

Producer of the Year
Zapp Mallet

World Bank Music for Development Award
Reggy Zippy with GH¢ 3000.  All the other nominees took home GHC¢300. Abraham Ohene-Gyan of OM Studios took home GH¢5000

Instrumentalist of the year
Emmanuel Koomson

MUSIGA Merit award
Professor J.H Nketiah
Best Music Video
Phamous People

Traditional Artiste of the Year
Mustapha Addy

Lifetime Achievement Award
By George Clifford Owusu

Continue Reading

More in Music

To Top
Verified by MonsterInsights