Connect with us

GMA 2011 Winners


GMA 2011 Winners

VIP One of the most sensational groups to have hit the music scene Ghana, VIP, walked away proud winners of the coveted ‘Artiste of the Year' the 12th MTN Ghana Music Awards festival on Saturday April 9.

The Vision In Progress (VIP) group chanting “The myth is broken” on stage, took home the Hip Life/Hip Hop Artiste(s) of the Year award.

The star studded event, organized by , was held at the Dome of the Accra International Conference Centre and saw celebrities and high profile personalities from all walks of life in attendance.

Big winners on the night included sensation Kwabena Kwabena, who took home the Highlife Song of the Year and Highlife Artiste of the year.

Cecilia Marfo took home the Gospel Song of the Year whilst his husband took home the Songwriter of the Year award.

Engineer Abraham Ohene Gyan, OM Studios, was offered an amount of GHC 5000 by the World Bank to dedicate airtime on his entertainment channel Fiesta on Skyy Digital TV, to promote music for development.

The ever riveting Osibisa band also received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award and was represented by Osei. Despite a well-attended and well-organized show some awards sent the hundreds of music fans at the venue wondering.

The mention of winners like Knii Lantey for Male Vocalist of the year, Herty Borngreat for Discovery of the Year and Sammy B with record of the Year, were met with met with mixed reactions.

However performances from MOGO award winner, CK MANN, 2face Idibia from Nigeria, Efya; who incidentally took home the award for Best Female Vocalist of the year, Trigmatic; who took home the Best Rapper of the Year Award, made the night a truly enjoyable and memorable one.

Below is a list of all the Categories and their Corresponding winners:

1. Best Reggae Recording of the Year: Iwan
2. Gospel Song of the year: Cecilia Marfo
3. Highlife Song of the year: Kwabena Kwabena with ‘Dadeanoma'

4. Best Hiplife song of the year: Castro feat Asamoah Gyan with ‘African Girls'

5. Hip-hop song of the year: D'black with ‘Get on the dancefloor'

6. Afro pop song of the year: ‘Kiss your hand' by R2bees.

7. MUSIGHA Merit Award: Emeritus Prof J.H Nketia
8. Traditional Artist of the year: Mustapha Addy
9. Instrumentalist of the year: Emmanuel Koomson
10. Best Collaboration: Castro Feat Asamoah Gyan with ‘African Girls'

11. Songwriter of the Year: Pastor Boamah
12. Best music for Development: Reggy Zippy with GHC 3000. All the other nominees took home GHC 300. Abraham Ohene-Gyan of OM Studios took home GHC 5000

13. Gospel artiste of the year: No tribe
14. Highlife artiste of the year: Kwabena Kwabena.
15. Rapper of year: Trigmatic
16. Record of the Year: Sammy B
17. Male Vocal Performance: Knii Lantey
18. Female Vocal Performance: Efya
19. Most Popular Song: Aha ye De by Nana Boro
20. Album of the year: Samini with CEO
21. Discovery of the Year: Herty Borngreat
22. Producer of the Year: Zapp Mallet
23. Video of the Year: Phamous People
24. Best African Artist: K'naan
25. Artiste of the year: VIP
26. Hip Life/Hip Hop Artiste(s) of the Year: VIP

No tags for this post.
Continue Reading

More in Music


👉 Breaking News 👈

Trending News


Subscribe to GhanaShowBiz via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other subscribers

Popular Tags

To Top
Verified by MonsterInsights