Connect with us

NPP Appointed Five Out Of The Seven Judges Sitting On John Mahama’s Case

Ghana News

NPP Appointed Five Out Of The Seven Judges Sitting On John Mahama’s Case

has petitioned the supreme Court to order the electoral commission to rerun the 2020 election because no one attained the 50+1 constitutional requirement.

The Chief Justice has appointed six other justices to add to himself to sit on the case. Our search on the profiles of the judges reveals that, 6 out of the seven Judges were appointed by the NPP governments while only one was appointed by NDC government.

Five of the judges were appointed by the sitting president who is the second Respondent and one of them was appointed by former president John Agyekum Kufour. Only one was appointed by John Dramani Mahama the petitioner.

A lecturer at the University of Ghana, Professor Raymond Atuguba conducted a research in 2017 establishing a positive correlation between the party that appoints a judge and their ruling on landmark cases at the supreme Court.

Find the Judges siting on the case and who appointed them below:

Chief Justice Anin Yeboah – NPP John Kufour

Yaw Appau – NDC John Mahama

Marful Sau – NPP/Akufo Addo

Nene Amegatcher – NPP/Akufo Addo

Prof Nii Kotey – NPP/Akufo Addo

Mariama Owusu – NPP/Akufo Addo

Getrude Torkonoo – NPP/ Akufo Addo

Continue Reading

SB Bitian is a Freelance Writer. Favorite quote: "I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favor to men of skill; but time and chance happen to them all" - Ecclesiastes 9:11

More in Ghana News


👉 Breaking News 👈

Trending News


Subscribe to GhanaShowBiz via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 309 other subscribers

Popular Tags

To Top